Musicians bullying musicians

October 24, 2010 § Leave a comment

How dare the DSO attack Ms. Sarah Chang! How dare Sarah for siding with the DSO management and backstabbing those in her own profession! I, as a former performer, totally sympathize with the DSO musicians in more or less attacking Ms. Chang for agreeing to perform a recital in place of the DSO concert. I understand unions and their strong feelings associated with those who are out against their cause. I do however, from a management point of view, think it was ridiculous, unprofessional, and inappropriate to threaten Ms. Chang for agreeing to perform.

Now, for my stance, as a concert goer. If I lived in Detroit I would not want to see the DSO for awhile. On both ends, they have shown an obvious lack of respect for each sides proposals. If I lived in Detroit I may not have even know, until recently, that the Detroit Symphony was considered one of the nations “best” and that that was determined solely on the fact of having such an inflated salary. I would also be upset that the musicians only will be in the city for an enormous salary, and that they have no respect for the thousands of unemployed around them. I would be confused on how people who “love the arts the most” are willing stop concerts from happening. I would be angry that they have the arrogance to say they are only here for the money and that the best will pack up and leave if they do not get their way. I would be baffled that a company that gives away as much money to its employees in hopes of making it the best organization possible, with no hope of profit, is willing to try and save the organization for qualities sake. In my bafflement, I would not understand how people in such a dying vocation would demand an upper-class salary (when less than 1% attends it), and their solution to not getting their way is to strike (which shows that the without them the city keeps working, the lights stay on, kids are still in school, and Armageddon has not arrived).

I am not taking sides nor offering a solution. I am highlighting what the general public may perceive when looking at this mess of a negotiation. What impact does this strike have on the legacy of the DSO? What will be the impacts of this new agreement, if it ever happens?

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/10/12/arts/music/12chang.html?_r=1

Justin

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Musicians bullying musicians at Public Relations for the Arts.

meta